Hero Behind the Mask: Expo Wolverine

If you want to follow someone who posts progress pictures than follow this talented cosplayer!  He has different and amazing armor costumes like Iron Man and Thing from Fantastic 4.  BTW the mouth on Thing moves!  It is pretty amazing and you can see video of it on his Facebook page linked below. But he can also pull of something simple like Wolverine! Please enjoy this weeks interview! –Mala

 photo IMG_0287_zpsfbg9u5nx.jpg
Name: Michael Surber aka Expo Wolverine

Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

What got you into CAUSEplaying and what keeps you going?
I enjoy bringing joy to others and helping people. What keeps me CAUSEplaying is that joy others get when they see their favorite Super Hero. I’d like to think I’m doing something meaningful and positive.

What was your first CAUSEplay event?
My first CAUSEplay event was a birthday party for a 7 year old boy who was also celebrating that his cancer was in remission. It was amazing!

What is your favorite costume to wear while CAUSEplaying, and Why?
Probably my favorite costume would be my Iron Man Mk6 suit. It was my most involved build so far and most time consuming. It was my first full suit and took about six months to build. It usually draws the biggest crowd of all my cosplays and the one I have the most request for.

Most memorable CAUSEplay moment: I think the most memorable moment was stand in my Iron Man suit and these kids are excited cause one it’s Iron Man, but two it was kind of intimidating cause you see I’m kind of a tall guy (6’3″) so the suit just adds to my size. None of the kids were sure if they should approach me. This one little girl slowly walked up to me. I waved at her and said, “Hello”, and I’ll never forget this, she smiled at me and just hugged me. I just melted and after that all the other kids started coming up to me after that.

What is your favorite cause to support?
My favorite cause is anything involving kids, but the one dearest to me is the Orbit Village Project (orbitvillage.org). It’s an orphanage in Nairobi Kenya where I did some mission work and have sponsored a child there.

The silliest/strangest thing you have done for a cause?
I’ve never done anything really strange or silly for a cause that I can think of, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t be game for it.

Who inspires you?
Who inspires me as far as cosplay are other cosplayers. They inspire me to try new things, see things a little differently than I did before. They really stretch my creativity and I love them for it. It pushes me it a good way.
 photo TPD_6901_WM_zpsv1qjotul.jpg
Advice for CAUSEplaying: The best advice I could give for CAUSEplaying is be passionate. Get behind something that is near and dear to your heart and pour yourself into it and be ready to pour yourself out for it.

What CAUSEplay events do you have coming up? I currently don’t have any CAUSEplay events on the calendar as of right now, but their are a few things on the horizon.

Do you prefer to be called a cosplayer or costumer?
I prefer cosplayer. I have been cosplaying for years, I just didn’t know it had a name. The first con I ever went to, I looked around and said out loud, “I am among my people!”. lol

What was your first costume/cosplay?
My first cosplay was Wolverine. I’ve always loved the character. The very first comic I ever bought myself was Wolverine issue 42, which I still have. He’s my favorite, always will be.

What is your day job (a.k.a. how I pay for my expensive hobby)?
My day job is working in a small village in the Service Department. I’m one of those guys you see with those neon shirts! lol

If you could have any job what would it be and why?
If I could have any job, it would be a comic book artist. That has always been my dream. I’ve been drawing and writing my whole life, I just never was able to get into that field. I even published a book on iTunes called Battles of Mullera, but to be a comic book artist would be a dream come true to me.
 photo IMG_6644_zpsy9txa70r.jpg
Tell us something random about yourself: Something random about me would be 13 really is my lucky number. When I was 8 my left arm went through a glass window and it cut me up really bad. I got rushed to the hospital by my parents and I remember waiting in the waiting room with my parents and a towel wrapped around my arm. I had to hold it over my head to slow the bleeding and I was out there for a very long time. When I finally was taken back, the cuts on my arm had already started to heal. The doctors had to reopen each cut to make sure there was no glass in them. They said I had lost so much blood that I should have died, but 13 stitches saved my life.

Star Wars or Star Trek: Star Wars. I was raised on Star Wars, but I am a fan of Next Generation Star Trek.

Marvel or DC: Marvel. I’m a die hard Marvel guy. All my cosplays are Marvel except Goku from DBZ.

Favorite Comic Series: Uncanny X-Men

Favorite Comic Character: Wolverine

Favorite Book: Battles of Mullera: Legacy of the Ginza Stone

Favorite Video Game: Spiderman: Web of Shadows

Favorite Con: Cincinnati Expo, C2E2

Groups: Cincinnati Cosplay Combo

FB: facebook.com/expowolverine

Twitter: twitter.com/ExpoWolverine

Instagram: instagram.com/expowolverine
 photo TPD_6886_WM_zpsoylxpmqx.jpg

Leave a Reply

