Raven (Teen Titans Cartoon)

 photo _MG_9054-Edit_zpshuzsvpf4.jpg

Raven was one of my favorite characters in high school. Do not get me started on Teen Titans Go! The characters and story of the originally series was sooo amazing it makes me sad that the characters have been changed so drastically to their current atrocity that they are. At the same time, the creators can poke fun of themselves so I did slightly forgive them for this video. But only because of this video.

Now, back my thoughts on this costume. I ordered the leggings and leotard because somethings are cheaper to buy than make! It took a lot of searching to find a long sleeved turtle neck leotard so I hope I never have to replace this costume! If you are currently looking I hope that the cosplay world has changed enough that it will be easier for you! The shoes were very difficult to find! Maybe I am too picky because that seems to be a common issue with each and every cannon costume I do! One reason I do love t photo _MG_9115-Edit_zpsgoe0aspi.jpghis costume is that the shoes are extremely comfortable!

The pattern for the cloak was not hard to modify. Sewing the point was frustrating, not going to lie, but I think I have gained enough skill that if I made this hood now it would be much easier.

Raven was one of my first attempts at accessories. Branching away from fabrics. I made the gems out of a foam clay covered in mod podge and glitter. TONS of glitter!!! I will never use this material again for costuming! This costume is high maintenance to store. The mod podge sticks to everything, usually ripping the box when I try to wear it, so I have to store it wrapped in fabric. Or if something is left on top of the gems it leaves an impression that you cannot get out. Since then I have learned to work with Resin and have commissioned several Raven belts and gems with this method. I just need to get around to making my own. One of these days. Sadly, I don’t wear this costume as much as I use to so I may not ever up grade my belt. n fact, I am  photo _MG_9094-Edit_zpskednxqr1.jpgcurrently debating about retiring this costume all together. However, every one gets mad when I bring the idea up. LOL

You can’t see it these pictures but I do have a gem for the forehead. I didn’t make this lovely addition though. Since I was just learning resin casting I commissioned this from the talented and sweet Lumi! Before having this accessory I used red dipstick liner to draw the shape on my forehead. If you are wondering about how to put something like this on your own body I use the same glue you would use for false eyelashes.

This is the only costume I have entered into a costume contest. I learned that comic book characters are not good matches for events like this. I had a few other friends learn this the hard way too. So that is a heads up! Stick to video game, anime, and movie costumes. Comic book costumes tend to by too simple.I had a ton of fun though and am still friends with many of the talent cosplayers I competed against.

Funny thing about Raven s I love to photobomb in this costume. It is completely against Raven’s personality but it is sooooooo much fun. I don’t do this in any other costumes oddly enough. Photobombing strangers anyways. I will always photobomb a friend.

Of course if you are interested in commissioning a Raven belt and gems of your own please e-mail me at adventureswithmala@gmail.com or message me on Facebook.  Please note, as I do not have a mold, and do not recast the work of someone else, the head gem is not included in commissions at this time.

All photo credits to Journeys in Color 

Check out my other cosplays and costumes on my resume by clicking here. If you have already checked out my resume you may notice no new listings for 2017. This is because I have been joyfully creating art for my new business! Check it out on my Facebook, Intsagram, Redbubble, and StorEnvy sites!

Leave a Reply

